03/19/2010

Marching on

Posted in Books, Flickr photos, Knitting, Random Me, Socks, Thoughts at 12:41 am by Jennie

Yay! A new pair :)


Matchy matchy

Hobby Lobby’s yarn bee brand yarn. It’s ok. Get it for cheaper and use the 40% off coupon. It’s not worth paying full price for. It feels dryer than other 75/25 workhorse sock yarns. It’s nice to have a matched up pair. I don’t mind fraternals but every now and again, it’s nice to know almost exactly where to knit.

Still working on the March Mystery socks but as I do this KAL I realize that if I have to wait, I kind of lose steam for the project. The 3rd clue was posted this past Sunday but I have yet to tackle it. It’s not a boring knit, I guess it’s because I started other projects and the mystery sock’s shininess has worn off. Hopefully by the time I get the 4th clue, maybe I can get some more speed.

Current Obsession:

  • Hiya Hiya stainless steel needles. I have a funky reaction to Knit Picks nickel plated ones and the Addi brass. They end up tarnished like crazy after knitting 12 rounds or so. KP’s Harmony needles were what I settled on, but I want to be speedy and see my needle when using dark yarns. So yay! for hiya hiya. I’ve been accumulating the longer ones lately so I could knit my pairs at the same time. 47″ and 60″ circs work really well for me. I like the extra room. Although 60″ may be a bit too roomy.
  • I’ve been eyeing their new interchangeable set. I keep telling myself I already have  the Harmony set, so I don’t “need” it. But gosh darn it, I WANT it!

Non-knitting News

Audiobook:

  • Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister ehh, maybe I just didn’t get into it. It felt draggy until maybe a bit past the middle. Then in got better. The ending (epilogue) was pretty deep, don’t know how I feel about the final thought(s).
  • Next up: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Book 1)I could read it, but…well, I tried and it just wasn’t working. At least this way I can listen, knit and enjoy the reader’s amazing skill with all the character voices.

Physical book:

  • Instead of finishing up my current reads (I think I’m supposidly working through 5), I decided to start another book (The Lovely Bones). It’s been hard because I want to read and knit but can only do one at a time. One day, I really hope I can do both at once.
2 Comments »

  1. gray la gran said,

    wow weee! i do love the colorful socks :)
    i’ve seen the yarnbee brand, but have yet to ‘go there’. i have bought my kroy at hobby lobby though.
    and i have knitted with the red heart & sole, and the lionbrand sock yarn.

    yep. i’m a sock yarn ho … a sucker for the cheap stuff ;)

  2. [...] something about listening to audiobooks that makes me fall asleep (and lose my place). My friend Jennie recently sent me some paperbacks and the two I finished (Pope Joan and The Constant Princess) were [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

