03/10/2007

Early morning after a long night of work.

Posted in Knitting, Random Me at 8:30 am by Jennie

I’ve been so busy with school and work that I’ve not had much time to do any knitting or posting. 😦 Oh the little joys in my life. I am so tired right now, but I really want to post some tid-bits. So lets start with Saturday Sock yarn. 🙂

I was lucky enough to win some Schaefer Anne sock yarn on eBay. I think I only ended up paying $17 total with shipping already included. Not a bad deal. The colors are really pretty. I’ve never touched this stuff before but just really wanted some, like always. The eBay seller was really great. The yarn was shipped as promised, but for some reason took a week to get to me, I think that was a postal thing.

Schaefer Anne sock yarn

Yarn Info: 60% Superwash Merino Wool, 25% Mohair, %15 Nylon

Here’s a close up so you can see the Mohair.

Schaefer Anne sock yarn

It’s really fuzzy looking. I’m not use to sock yarn looking like this.

So, I really like this yarn, the look, and the color. I don’t have any plans for it as of yet. It’s gonna be living in the yarn stash for some time. I purchased the yarn from mcporter114 on eBay. The seller has pretty darn good feedback and some nice yarns.

On a happy note, I finally took some pics of my socks I knitted using my Interlacements Las Vegas Lights yarn. I don’t know if I blogged about how awesome it was to knit with this yarn. But yeah, it was amazing. So soft and just flew through my fingers. I am in love with this yarn right now. Well, seeing as how it was my first fancy yarn I worked with, I love it. I still have yet to work on my other fancy yarns so I really don’t have much to compare it with. But for now, I love it. And I want more, oh so much more. Plus, one skein/hank, was just enough for me to make a pair of footies and have quite a bit left over.

Socks knit with Interlacements Tiny Toes

As you can see, there is a bit of fuzz going on at the bottom of the feet. These socks are really soft and I did not think much of it until it was too late. The instructions on the yarn said the yarn was machine washable so I threw them into the laundry after the first wear and they came out a bit fuzzy. So now I just hand wash them with Soak and block them with my ghetto fab wire blockers. This has helped with the fuzzing a bit and I hope the keep these babies around for some time. Oh and Interlacements are a really saturated yarn. Even after 5 or more washings I still get some color running in the water. So, I don’t know if its just me or if its a normal thing.

Oh by the way, my order from The Loopy Ewe came in on Friday and I fondled the sweetness of Sweet Georgia all the way to work. It’s very pretty stuff, but this is just a teaser, I’ll post more about it when I get pictures of it. 🙂 Off to bed…

1 Comment »

  1. Janet said,

    Your Schaefer Anne is beautiful too! I’ve become addicted to the Schaefer-Anne mohair halo. 🙂

    Basically, I love all the different sock yarns you’re buying and I can’t wait to hear what you think of the Fleece Artist and the BMFA . . . I’ve not ever knit socks with those.


Leave a Reply

