05/04/2007

Happy May 4th

Posted in Contests, Knitting, Random Me at 12:56 pm by Jennie

There are many reasons to be happy today. The biggest one of all is that today marks the 1 year anniversary of the day I began my knitting quest. I really did not think knitting was going to be something I would actually stick with for awhile since I tend to pick up hobbies here and there and drop them just as quickly. When I was younger my mom had taught me to crochet, just a very basic stitch. I had big crochet plans. LOL. I was going to knit my new cousin-to-be a baby blanket. It all started well, but then I stopped it, never finished it for that cousin. A year later, another opportunity came, another baby cousin, so I thought I’d work on that blanket again, as you could’ve guessed, still didn’t finish it. I suppose I had no follow through, or that I was just a kid in her tweens thinking I could whip up a blanket like that. I am so glad I kept that crochet blanket or whatever it has become since it’s too wide to be a scarf but too small to be a blanket. It is a part of my past that I treasure. I keep the blanket in my dresser and when I see it, it puts a smile on my face. I know I’ll never work on it again and it’s just there but to me it’s perfect. A perfect memory forever dancing in knitting crochet limbo.

Oh my, how gushy that all sounds, but what the heck am I going on about crocheting when I start off talking about knitting. Just some back story about me I suppose. Anywho, I did try to pick up crocheting again when I was in high school, I actually finished a super lopsided, crazy hole-ly, uneven scarf. That made me realize that crocheting was not for me. Okay, back to knitting. So last year today, I thought knitting looked interesting and seemed so hard because you had to use two sticks with no hook, how the heck do people do that? I just had to know. I luckily found Amy’s website:KnittingHelp.com . This site is amazing. I learned from Amy’s videos and the knitting needles made sense. Most of the rest of the story is in the me-ish page so no need to continue this part of the novel. ๐Ÿ™‚

As many others have done so, so will I. I’m giving aways some more yarn. ๐Ÿ™‚ No actual contest, just me drawing your name out of some container. The way about the name drawing may be upsetting to some but :p

This is sort of a gift to those who have commented on my blog. I’m going to back track to a week from today, every time someone has commented on a post, that person’s name with be put into the drawing. So lets say you commented 5 times, you will be put into the drawing 5 times so your chances are pretty good. Anyone who comments today on this post will be entered too, but will only get 1 chance even if you post 3 comments. I hope that makes sense. And no being sneaking commenting on past posts, the dates are there when ya’ll comment. hehe.

Okay, back to reasons why today is a happy day…

  • I received my copy the summer Interweave Knits
  • There is only one more of week of classes, (on a crappy note it’s finals next week)
  • Ummm okay, another super reason why today rocks! –> I finished my fortissima socks! YIPPIE! Sadly the 50g ball did not make it to the and I had to get crafty. I really thought about everyone’s suggestions, but I was being lazy and didn’t want to frog the toe on the first sock and so I had to be ghetto fab and use some of my Trekking XXL 100. It turned out pretty well. There is a slight difference in the way the sock feels because I think the trekking is a smidgen bit thinner than the fortissima. I wore them to work, and they took the beating. They are my current favorite socks. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I only got this far…

    Not enough

    Fortissima Colori 2419

    Fortissima Colori Socka Color #2419
    Started: 4/26/07
    Finished: 5/2/07
    Needles: US 0 (2.0mm) 5″ double pointed Clover bamboo

    Now can you guess which one is partly made up of the Trekking? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Have a great weekend! I’ll post about the winner on Saturday! (l)

    10 Comments »

    1. elizabeth said,

      I go through um, obsessions, I suppose you could say, too, but I think this knitting thing is going to stay with me, especially now that I’m spinning! Your socks turned out great, I can’t believe you got as far as you did with 50g, and on size 0 needles! I’m knitting a pair of Koigu footies on size 1s and hoping I don’t have to do contrasting toes. But I wear a 6.5-7, so that must be the difference. Anyway, happy knitiversary!

    2. Trish said,

      I can crochet but haven’t since I finished a ripple blanket for my oldest. Knitting has become my obsession and it doesn’t look like I’ll be dropping it at all.
      The socks came out great. The thicker yellow stripe kinda gives it away but that’s because I’m a knitter. I doubt non knitters would even pick up on it. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Congrats! Looks like knitting is going to stick. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Yuck, I hated final exams but at least you are free after that for awhile. Good luck and hope you do great!

    3. Shannon said,

      I thought knitting would be the same for me – a project maybe two if I was lucky then all done. I thought I’d do that same thing with my blog – but so far so good.

      I like how the socks came out. You can’t even tell that you finished the one with Trekking.

      Your contest? Your rules! I can’t imagine anyone getting upset by something like that.

      Hope finals go well! I am so glad I am well past that.

    4. wow, you can’t even tell that you used a different yarn – great job! and congrats on your 1 year knitterversary! woohoo – one more entry into the drawing!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    5. zehava said,

      wowee! those socks are marvelous! to the untrained eye, you’d never know you had to go ghetto on the toe ๐Ÿ™‚

      nice work! ๐Ÿ˜€

    6. i forgot to add “damn, you’re fast!” i know, this comment doesn’t count… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    7. Tiffany said,

      I hadn’t realized you fudged the second sock until you mentioned it! (I looked at the photos first.) ๐Ÿ˜€ The pair looks great! ๐Ÿ™‚

    8. kc said,

      I think the Trekking worked out well, great save! I guess you could have made like, anklet socks, but that would have been way too safe, eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Congrats on your anniversary! Isn’t knitting so darn cool? ๐Ÿ™‚ I lovelovelove knittinghelp.com – she’s saved me many a time. Those videos…. what would I do without them? I like hearing people’s knitting stories… it’s the string that ties us all together. Or some other cheesy cliche/pun ;P

    9. Jen said,

      Nice job on the socks! I totally can’t tell at all that it’s not the same yarn! Woohoo!

    10. Manda said,

      I love your socks!


    Leave a Reply

