05/15/2007

First Baby Blanket

Posted in Knitting at 11:47 pm by Jennie

My non-sock project is an actual baby blanket. I actually had the idea to knit up a baby blanket for my cousin to be last year when I first learned how to knit. I bought the yarn and everything, but it just never came to be. Now that I’m sticking with knitting, I thought I’d give the baby blanket idea another try. I’m lucky enough to be blessed with a baby niece and I can’t wait for her to get here. So I am determined to make this baby blanket happen and to finish it for sure. It is going good so far. I decided on using Aunt Pearl’s Cabled Baby Blanket pattern from Knitting Pattern Central. With a little tweaking here and there, I’m grooving with the pattern.

First Bably blanket

I’m using Plymouth Encore in the 7065 color. A big difference from the sock yarn I’ve been working with. The process is really good for me. I am able to see where I need improvement on, which is everything. My stitches are a bit lopsided. Either I’m purling too losely or my knit stitch is tighter. But this is good practice. Especially since I get to practice the whole cable-ling (how do you write it?) without a cable needle.  And trying out different techniques with attaching yarn since I have a few skeins that are slightly different in lot number so I’m trying to rotate them in.

Oh, slight question for those who’ve used this yarn before…is it blockable? I’ve never blocked anything other than socks so I’m really curious. The yarn is 75% acrylic but it is also 25% wool. How would I go about it?

7 Comments »

  1. Jen said,

    CUTE!! I have blanket envy. There’s a little voice inside me trying to convince me to learn to crochet just so I can whip up blankets in a reasonable amount of time.

    No clue about blocking, but I imagine that it can all be blocked??

  2. Very nice! I don’t see why it shouldn’t block, but don’t quote me on that. I do know that ribbon yarn won’t block, according to my knitting group last night (file that away for future reference, I guess).

  3. Shannon said,

    Nice blanket! That will be a well loved item I bet.
    I have no idea if it will block or not. Give it a shot. If the yarn is washable, you could let it go through the washer and then lay it out to shape it instead of putting it into the dryer.

  4. Trish said,

    It’s going to be so cute! I love the colors and the cables. You should be able to block it if you wish. Here’s a great article from Knitty that I always turn to when I need blocking advice:
    http://www.knitty.com/issuewinter02/FEATdiyknitter.html

  5. Jennie said,

    (l) Aww thanks everyone!

  6. jane said,

    Simply precious. I still have some of my kids special blankies that were knit/crocheted for them when they were babies. It will be a treasured gift. Love the cables too.

  7. Annie said,

    It looks great! I’m swamped with baby blankets at the moment- everyone I know is pregnant right now!


Leave a Reply

