05/20/2007

Opal Sock Farbe 185 Update

Posted in Knitting at 6:27 pm by Jennie

Well, I finally finished the second sock. I did not get the chance to ask my cousin to try out the first one and just went ahead and made the second one. Unfinished projects slightly bother me, especially if they were intended for someone. The yarn wasn’t spectacular to work with. I’ve heard that it softens up nicely after a wash or two so that would be great, since it’s feeling a bit stiff and slightly plastic-like. I’ve soaked them in some wool wash and blocked them. Now my question is, how to ya’ll wrap socks? I fold them and they look weird cuz of the heel and then I try to roll them up and they still look odd. How in the world do I make them pretty and presentable? BTW, I am soooo in love with the Soak wool wash A scent for Celebration fragrance. It just sucks that they make the limited edition ones in such a smaller size bottle. 😦

Opal Sock

Start: 4/1/07
Finish: 5/17/07
Co: 64 sts
Needles: Clover DPN Bamboo US 1 (2.25mm)
Garter Rib Stitch pattern (not a great idea to do this pattern with such a crazy sock; too much going on)
Finished foot length: 9.5 inches

5 Comments »

  1. I fold mine in half and put a wrapper (1/2 or 1/3 sheet of paper lengthwise) on it with all the information. Here is one that I made for a friend. Great socks! I am the same way and don’t like unfinished objects sitting around for very long, especially socks!

  2. Zuleika said,

    They came out really nice! Sorry, no tips for wrapping them. I’m terrible at that. 🙂

  3. Trish said,

    I’ve learned not to leave things laying around for to long because when I come back to it my tension is different and I end up with socks that are two different sizes….Not fun!
    I normally fold the toe back to the heel and then roll it all up. I’m still working on perfecting the gift presentation. 🙂
    Opal will soften up after a few washes and the stuff wears like iron. The socks should last a long time.
    I love, love, love the Soak with the Aquae but don’t care much for the Citrus. I still have to try the Flora. I got some of the mini samples to try and then figured I’d buy a bigger bottle of the one I really liked. 🙂

  4. Tiffany said,

    I haven’t knit with Opal, but I’ve felt it before–it might not be the softest, but I bet it wears really well over time. 🙂

    I have some Soak wash in Aquae and it’s quite nice. 🙂

  5. Shannon said,

    I like the wrapper idea. Seems like it would be easy to do as well.

    The socks look great! I didn’t realize some of the Soack scents were linited editions. That stinks!


Leave a Reply

