06/04/2007

Some projects here and there.

Posted in Knitting at 11:56 pm by Jennie

I’ve actually been knitting a bit on and off, especially when I can squeeze it in. 🙂 I’m really excited about knitting up a few more baby hats for Sheri’s Quarterly Challenge. For some reason I was putting it off. But gosh, once I finished the baby hat, I thought, wow that was a fast knit. Plus is so small and I just love it. I think the yarn I’m using is Bernat Baby, it’s so soft.

Baby Hat Baby Hat comparison

I couldn’t get over how small the hat is. I had to take pics of it next to a coke because when I see pics on-line I can really never visualize the actual size.

Onward to some sock knitting…

Lorna's Laces Shepherd Sock - Camouflage Turning these babies into this… LLCamo

Lorna’s Laces Camouflage into some nice socks for another pal at work. I’m trying to work them both at the same time. I only have a set of each DPN so one is being knit up on my 7″ ones and the other on my 5″ needles. Yes, I placed an order for more needles so I don’t have to be ghetto-fab like this again. I think I’m just gonna buy tons when there is a sale. I really like the Clover Takumi 5″ length. I want more! 🙂 Oh and these socks are huge. I cast on 80 stitches on US1 (2.25mm) and gosh, I don’t know if my gage is off or what not. I’m slightly afraid that these won’t fit and may turn out too big. I’ll just have to see.

And finally, I have jumped on the Monkey bandwagon. Yup! I’m a follower.

These look pretty neat-o. I’m using Trekking 100 and knitting them up on US0, since my ones are currently occupied 😦

Monkey Monkey

The pattern isn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I guess I was just afraid to try something more complex than vanilla socks. Thanks to all the awesome pics out there I really had to try these out. I kinda stuck to a basic K2P2 cuff without realizing it because I just did my cast on as usual. Then I thought I’d be snazzy and try the Partridge Heel. You really can’t see it, but it was fun to try something different. Overall, fun stuff!

11 Comments »

  1. Trish said,

    The socks look great! Told you Monkey was easy. 😉 The pattern works up so fast.
    Baby hats are so fun and fast to knit. So are baby socks…..instant gratification. I guess it’s good I have two babies to knit for.

  2. can’t believe you thought monkey was hard!!! i’m glad you got over it and did it! see? all patterns are basically knit and purl so just do what looks interesting to you, don’t worry about if it looks hard. and that baby hat – isn’t it amazing how small we all were??

  3. Shannon said,

    I love the wee little hat! Baby items are jsut so cute.

    I like the socks too! I think my next pair will be monkeys. I’m looking forward to seeing the camo socks done. I have that color in my stash.

  4. Janet said,

    I love that baby hat! Adorable!

    When I knit my hubby’s Lorna’s Laces socks, I cast on 72 stitches on Size 1’s and he thought they could have been snugger-fitting. I’ve got photos on my Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/planetjanet/148736505/). He’s got an average-size foot (and ankle) for a guy, if that helps.

    But the reason I came here was to tell you that I like the 2×2 ribbing better than the twisted rib the pattern calls for. I wish I had seen your Monkey before I started mine (I love 2×2 ribbing).

  5. Jennie said,

    Trish: It’s all you girl. You gave me the nudge I need to try the pattern out. So muchas gracias! (l)

    bockstark.knits: I’m a big wuss when it comes to new things. I need to be egged on and pushed. LOL. And babies are just too cute! You just want to cuddle them and love them so much.

    Shannon: Thanks! I may be reworking the Camo socks after the info Janet provided but will definitely be posting pics since I love seeing how socks can pool or not.

    Janet: Thank you so much for your input about hubby’s feet and socks. This really makes me rethink the socks I’m knitting up. I guess I just needed someone to tell me 80 stitches could be too big so I could rip and rework. Plus since this is my first time with LL, this yarn seems stretchier, or is it me? LOL
    And thank you for liking my K2P2 mistake. 🙂 Seeing as how for some odd reason Monkey’s knit up pretty darn quick, you could always make another pair. 😉

  6. Becky said,

    Monkey really is a great, simple to follow pattern. I love it. I’m going to cast on for a new pair soon I think.

  7. Jean said,

    The baby hat is adorable! I love your use of diet coke can for scale. The LL Camo is a really cool color. But 80 stitches on US 1’s really does sound quite big. I don’t know if you’re a tight knitter or the size of the recipient’s feet, but 80 stitches still sounds pretty big to me. When I use Shepherd Sock on size 1’s for a woman’s foot, I usually go somewhere in the 60 – 64 stitch range. The Monkey’s look great!

  8. Rasa said,

    Jennie, Nice work. I have a pair of monkey socks planned…just not started yet. I have 2 socks to finish before I get started on my Victoria Lace socks for the Six Sox Knitalong. The monkeys really are nice looking socks! The baby hat is great – its fun to knit baby stuff…it goes fast ’cause it’s so small…and so cute!

  9. Tiffany said,

    The baby hat looks soooo soft and squishy! 🙂

  10. Jen said,

    Another one succumbs to the lure of the monkeys! They look awesome in the stripey yarn, and I’m a fan of the eye of p. as well. Such a cute heel.

  11. Steph said,

    I may have jump on that bandwagon too, your monkeys look lovely in Trekking!


Leave a Reply

