07/17/2007

Sockapalooza progress…

Posted in Knitting at 1:09 am by Jennie

I’ve been really busy with school and work and sadly don’t spend enough time knitting. The socks for my Sockapalooza4 Pal are coming along slowly but surely. I may be part of the minority here, but I’m kinda a fan of pooling and was hoping that the Lorna’s Laces would pool, but not luck, just the stripes. But then I did get a bit a pooling and the awesome part about it is that the socks are a perfect match. There’s the blue pooling on one side and the pinkish red pools on the other. Both socks are mirror images of each other, hehe. Or what I call close enough to matching pretty darn nicely. I’m knitting these socks up on Inox 2.5mm DPNs and I have to say that I’m a fan of the needles. I’ve been using my clovers for awhile now and anything heavy just doesn’t seem to do it for me. I had tried to used my cheap-o Aluminum needles but they felt so heavy in comparison the bamboo, but gosh, the Inox are really light. I have to have more. Anywho, the colorway is the LL Uptown and I hate to say this but I really like the way they looked as hanks than kit up with the color combo. They just don’t seem to look as “wow”. They are colors my pal likes so hopefully she’ll like them too. I really hope I can finish these up by the end of the week so I can start on another pair for another pal, and finish up all the one’s I’ve already been working on.


Monkey Monkey Monkey

I’m so giddy that the pooling matches up-ish. 🙂

8 Comments »

  1. kc said,

    They look great! I kind of like pooling too, I mean, that’s what most painted yarns do 🙂 If you don’t like it, by yarn that is made to stripe, right? 🙂 I’m never picky about socks matching too much. I like the matching, but not *perfectly* matching, aspect of handknit socks.

  2. Jen said,

    Oooh love the color combo. Very bright! How do you like the monkey pattern? You were just knitting plain socks before?

  3. Tina M. said,

    These are awesome, and I’m with you on the holy cow they match thing! I mean, seriously, doesn’t it kinda make you believe in magic?

    And may I say that I’ve never seen anyone knit two at a time when not using circs? You are unique in my experience.

  4. Becky said,

    Great job with the socks.

  5. Shannon said,

    The socks are looking great!you are zooming right along!

  6. Trish said,

    They look great. I’m a fan of pooling too. 🙂 I have some LL in my stash for socks for the kiddos but none for myself. I haven’t bought any new DPs….I’ve been stuck on magic looping. 🙂
    Hope things slow down for you soon.

  7. Jennie said,

    KC: I can be a bit (6) psycho about my socks matching especially when they are the stripping kind.

    Jen: It’s a really neat-o pattern. I was a bit intimidated, but once I got the hang of it, lace isn’t so bad. 🙂 I’m actually a bit Monkeyed out, since I have my pals pair to finish up and one for me.

    Tina Aww shucks, thanks for calling me unique. I’m actually not that fantabulous. Many people actually knit both socks on DPNs since it helps prevent SSS. Plus my gauge tends to be a bit off when I start the second sock after the first one. One sock always ends up tighter than the other, so hopefully doing them this way will help prevent that.

    Becky: Thanks a bunch! :d

    Shannon: LoL if only that were true. I wish I could knit faster. I think I’ve been working on these socks for a month now. 😦 All I want to do is make sure they are done by the deadline so my pal gets her socks. 🙂

    Trish: I (l) pooling. 🙂 Thanks, I hope things slow down for me too. And you are such a spoiler for your kiddies, they are so lucky to have such fancy yarns just for them. And one of these days I will have to try magic loop, I did try once and failed. 😦

  8. Bee said,

    Your socks look faboo….I love it when the colours match. I noticed that my second sock is always has looser gauge than the first…not sure why but it’s the second time it’s happened to me this year. Pretty annoying. perhaps I need to knit two socks together too.


Leave a Reply

