08/19/2007

It's been awhile.

Posted in Knitting, Socks at 8:32 am by Jennie

Wow, I can’t believe I’ve be absent for so long. I kept thinking it’s only been a few days but wow, over a week. I guess I’ve been caught up in reading everyone’s blog entries and drooling over some amazing finished knits. I’ve been good too and knitting up a few more items.

I did start the footies for my coworker in the FA Tiger, but half way through the socks, I realized that they are gonna be too big. Let’s just say, I’ve learned my lesson and now when I try new yarns, swatching is a must. The FA nova socks are a bit thicker, instead of my usual 9spi, it was 8spi and well, yeah, I decided to start over and just knit some new ones. You can see how far I was able to go. I just cut the yarn and decided not to frog, just in case the 8spi socks are too small. Oh and alternating between the two balls really sucks. So, for the second go around, I’m just gonna stick with them being different because it is just a PITA (pain in the @ss) to deal with weaving in so many ends.


On a happy note, I tried a new technique. My first attempt with magic loop. I had received great advice from Trish who said to try out the method on thicker yarn. I purchased Fiesta Boomerang from TLE without realizing that it was worsted weight. The colors are really awesome and this is some nice soft yarn with a great twist.

Magic loop is such a great technique. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. Especially now since I understand the construction of a sock, I was able to figure out how to move the stitches on the cable. I think I may be a ML convert.

Another first with using Knit Picks circs, and yep, they are just amazing. I love how pointy the tips are and the flexibility of the cable. The purple color is quite nice too.

Overall, an enjoyable experience, I’ve never finished socks so fast. LOL thick yarn = quick socks. Hehe. Too bad I wont be able to wear them until the weather gets colder since they are really thick and super warm.

Crossover Rib Socks Crossover Rib close up
Pattern: Crossover Rib from Sensational Knitted Socks
Yarn: Fiesta Boomerang
Colorway: Salsa
Purchased from: The Loopy Ewe
Start: 8/13/07
Finished: 8/18/07
Needle: 3.0mm Knit Picks 32” circs
Technique: Magic Loop
CO: 40 sts
Heel Flap: Eye of Partridge
Total Foot Length: ~8 inches made to fit a US women’s 5.5 shoe

5 Comments »

  1. becky said,

    That’s a nice pattern for that yarn. It’s what I love about Sensational socks the best. You can find a pattern to fit the fiber.

  2. Trish said,

    The socks look great! I didn’t grasp ML very well until I’d knit a few socks on dpns. After I understood the heel and toe decreases I was good to go. I haven’t knit a sock on dpns in awhile.
    I got to feel the Fiesta the other day in my LYS. I couldn’t believe how squishy it is. 🙂

  3. kc said,

    I’ve never officially tried ML, but I have used a similar technique when I was desperate to make a hat with limited supplies 🙂 Those crossover rib socks look so squishy! =D

  4. Jen said,

    They look great! I need to get me some worsted weight socks! I still haven’t finished anything!! All the car knitting and nothing to show for it!

  5. Elemmaciltur said,

    Ahhhh, how can you be so fast with socks?!!

    LOVE the Tiger colourway!


Leave a Reply

