08/24/2007

Fraternal Footies, Kool Aid Dying, and socks to be…

Posted in Dyeing, Knitting, Socks, Stash tagged at 11:50 am by Jennie

The Footies are done . What do ya think? Crazy how a continuous hank/skein can produce such different results. I had posed a question or should I say made a remark on my Flickr photo about the debate I read somewhere about how dyers should dye up 100g skeins instead of having us get two 50g skeins since those would create somewhat different looking socks. Well as you can see and 100g skein can do the same thing too. Plus with two 50g skeins, I can wind them up and knit two socks at once instead of having to split up my big one.

Fraternal Footies
Pattern: Plain Stockinette with a K1P1 mini cuff
Yarn: Fleece Artist Nova Sock
Colorway: Tiger
Start: 8/10/07
Finished: 8/22/07
Needle: Addi Turbo 32” Circ (2.5mm)
CO: 64sts
Heel Flap: Eye of Partridge
Total Foot Length: 10 inches, made to fit a US women’s 10 shoe

I’ve been having fun playing around with sock yarn and Kool Aid. I keep seeing such amazing creations out there and keep hearing about how fun it is. And it’s all true. This was really fun. I know my first dye job really isn’t that great, but I feel quite accomplished so I’m gonna share, lol.


I used the microwave method and just poured the colors on top of the yarn and soaked up all the excess water and what nots. There are a lot of tutorials out there. I used THIS ONE. Just three colors, black cherry, blue raspberry, and lemonade. The base yarn is Knit Picks Bare (75% superwash wool, 25% nylon). And here it is all wound up and ready to go…

Ready to Go

Another yarn all wound up and ready to knit is the Madeline Tosh Vintage Apron. I just need to pick out a pattern and just go at it.

Vintage Apron

I also picked up two balls of sock yarn from Knit Picks. They had an Essential Special because these did not turn out as they had wanted. The company is test dying their Essentials line and considered these not as bright or deep enough. I kinda like them. Head on over and get yourself some.

Knit Picks Essential

That’s my novel for now, I hope to get back to ya’ll with some nifty new socks for show and tell.

6 Comments »

  1. Trish said,

    They still look good. 🙂
    The Kool-aid yarn looks fun. I’m going to try that after I get settled in to our new house.

  2. Shannon said,

    I like the tiger socks. They may not match but they coordinate pretty good! I like the yarn you dyed. Sounds like a fun project. I want to see that apron!

  3. Elemmaciltur said,

    I really like the tiger socks…although I can’t decide which one I like more. I guess the left one. And that Kool-Aid yarn you dyed! Great choice of colours!!!!

  4. Rasa said,

    When you consider how you dye a hank of yarn, it makes sense that the socks would not be exactly alike…although I would expect them to be a little closer in color.

  5. kc said,

    I love your koolaid yarn! That is definitely a colorway I would see and want, hehe! 🙂

  6. Debby said,

    I love dying yarn with kool aid. The colors come out great and it is so easy.


Leave a Reply

