09/24/2007

Araucanía Stash Enhancement

Posted in Stash at 6:33 pm by Jennie

I don’t have much progress to report, so I’m just gonna share some stash love. Happy Monday! 🙂

These are some beauties I picked up at my local yarn store (the awesome Hill Country Weavers) a few weeks back when they had a sock yarn/natural fiber sale.

From the information on the card, I believe the yarn can be used as sock yarn, but it’s squishy enough to make other pretties. There’s a great story about how the company was established. I love this part: “Each hank is different; its individual beauty emerges as the artisan blends color in the kettle to create several unique shades.” That sounds so pretty. And it is, there are so many colors mixed in each skein.

Araucania Stash
Brand: Araucanía – Ranco Multy
75% wool
25% Polyamide
Yardage: +/- 376yd/ 344m
Weight: +/- 100g/ 3.52oz
Reccomendations
Gauge: 24sts = 4inches
Needle size: 3.25mm (US-3)
Instructions say to hand wash. (I’m not a big fan of this )

Araucania - 307Color 307

Araucania - 310 Color 310

Araucania - 303 Color 303

Araucania - 301 Color 301

15 Comments »

  1. kc said,

    I was really, really tempted to buy some of this when I got the yarn for the Swallowtail Shawl… the colors are so interesting and almost irridecent, aren’t they? There was this crazy green one that I was drawn to and the other was close to the 303 you got 🙂

  2. Heather said,

    Oh that stash love is giving me evil ideas, it’s all so beautiful!

  3. ohhhhhhh my! Those are SO gorgeous!

  4. stacey said,

    Oh my, this yarn is so beautiful. Must. Get. Some.

  5. Tina M. said,

    Ooooh. The rose and tan colored one is calling my name. 🙂

    I handwash all my socks, superwash/nylon or not. I figure, if I put all that time, money and effort into it then the least I can do is safeguard my investment.

  6. Trish said,

    Love the colors! Definitely worth hand washing. 🙂

  7. Elemmaciltur said,

    Hmmmm….what yummy yarns….

  8. elizabeth said,

    Beautful colors! New yarn – yay!

  9. trek said,

    Ooh!
    Aah!

  10. Rasa said,

    BEAUTIFUL! I’m with you on the hand washing! I swear I’m knitting my last pair of “hand wash” yarn socks…only I don’t see as much beautiful yarns amongst the machine wash ones…

  11. Dipsy said,

    Oh my gosh, this is some amazingly beautiful yarn that you got there! I can’t for the life of me pick a favorite, I love all these colorways! Can’t wait to see how they look knit up! Happy Knitting!

  12. Annie said,

    Those yarns are lovely! Can’t wait to see what you do with them!

  13. Lone Knitter said,

    That’s such pretty yarn. Do you use a wool-soak wash. I find it makes hand-washing a breeze, but maybe that’s just me. 🙂

  14. Alex said,

    *Drools.*

    Seems kinda silly that you have to hand wash a yarn with nylon content, but maybe it’s to preserve those incredible colors. I know some yarns fade quite a bit after a trip through the wash.

  15. Steven said,

    Wow, such creative names for the colors.


Leave a Reply

