10/07/2007

Conquered Waving Lace

Posted in Knitting, Socks tagged , , at 2:52 pm by Jennie

I have tried to knit the pattern at least 4 times. The pattern was originally going to be knit with my MadelineTosh Vintage Apron, but for some odd reason I could not get gauge. I tried it on 2.50mm needles and then 2.00mm needles. The first was too big and the second try it was too small. So I gave up and went with another pattern.

When I started with my Interlacement yarn I knew it had too much going on to use a really interesting detailed pattern and so the thought of waving lace came back. (Not to say that the waving lace pattern is at all simple.) I thought I’d start them off with 2.5mm again thinking the Interlacement yarn was thicker and that the pattern would finally work out. A few repeats in, I am disappointed to realize that it’s still too big. Not wanting to give up on this, I though, hmm lets go down to 2.00mm and so I did and am finally happy to report that they fit! If anyone out there has small feet and odd gauge problems, you can definitely get this pattern to work out. Oh and back to what I mentioned before, this is definitely not a super simple pattern. I kept miss-counting because the yarn overs threw me off. If possible, always try to count every few rows to make sure you’re where you’re suppose to be since I had to tink back quite a few times. Other than that, I had a good time with this pattern. And the repeats weren’t too hard to memorize, especially after a few mishaps. hehe.

Waving Lace Waving Lace Socks
Pattern: Waving Lace Socks from Favorite Socks
Yarn: Interlacement Tiny Toes
Colorway: Mardi Gras
Start: 9/23/07
Finished: 10/5/07
Needle: 32” Knit Picks circ size (2.00mm/ US 0)
CO: 64sts
Total Foot Length: ~8 inches

11 Comments »

  1. becky said,

    That’s a lovely mix of pattern with yarn. They look great.

  2. stacey said,

    ahhh, it’s good to learn from other’s mistakse – thank you for the advice. Your socks are gorgeous!

  3. sharon said,

    Beautiful socks! The colorway and pattern complement each other so well.

  4. Adrienne said,

    Beautiful socks! I’m glad you persevered with the pattern, great job!

  5. trek said,

    They look great.

  6. mel said,

    Those are some happy colors and some very cute socks!! 🙂 I’m so glad you persisted, it was worth it!

  7. Alex said,

    Such brightness! And yay for your first socks of Socktober.

    I meant to reply to your comment about this, but it applies here: the River Rapids pattern is exactly like the Waving Lace pattern, only with more k6, p2 rows in between the yo, dec rows. So that’s part of why it was so blah for me–I’d done it before!

  8. Heather said,

    Love the socks. I gotta buy that book. Just for that pattern 🙂

    By the way you’ve been tagged, check out my blog to see the rules, hope that you don’t mind.

  9. Shannon said,

    Love the colors! I think these came out great with that pattern. Good job on getting the pattern to work for you -it was worth the effort.

  10. Dipsy said,

    These socks are stunningly beautiful – the pattern as well as the gorgeous color combo, and you’ve knit them up so beautifully! Fantastic work indeed!

  11. Nicole said,

    Those socks are gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

