10/23/2007

A few updates

Posted in Accessories, Sock Club, Stash tagged , at 1:27 pm by Jennie

This past week of being sick made me realize how much I missed my knitting. I actually thought my love affair with it was over. The thought really freaked me out. Especially since I have a nice size sock stash. LOL. I kept trying to knit a few rows here and there but I was so tired from all the medicine and all I wanted to do was sleep. I lost a few days there. I’m still not fully back to my normal self, waiting for my voice to come back. I sound super squeaky and weird. Thank you to everyone who stopped by to wish me well. Your thoughts are deeply appreciated.

Now that things are slowly getting better, no worries, I still love knitting and it’s here to stay. Yippee! Alright, onward to a few updates…

Last weekend I had a great opportunity to go check out The Knitting Nest. Thanks to Janet for informing me about it, seeing as how I have no idea what goes on here in my own city. It is a cute little place with a nice cozy area to knit and chat. Kinda far for me to go on a regular basis but if I ever needed any cascade 220 in any color, they stock it all. There is an amazing wall of pure cascade goodness for ya’ll cascade lovers out there. I didn’t go home with any yarn since I’m more of a sock yarn lover right now. But I didn’t go empty handed. I snagged a cute little project bag and my current sock is in it now. The bag is by Knitting Ewe On The Go.

Sock Pouch Closed with project

Here’s the latest Yarn Pirate Sock Club enhancement. This time around Georgia included some extra goodies. Two circular needles; US1 and US2. They are cute and pink. Don’t know how much I’ll like them since the cord isn’t quite as flexible as my current Knit Picks needles. The colorway is called Killer Bees. Perfect for the Hallow-day season. Can I just say that it is super hard to photograph neon colors. The yellow and green are actually neon in real life. And I mean super bright neon colors. Picture a green and yellow highlighter, that’s exactly how they look.
Yarn Pirate - Killer Bees YP October '07

And finally, here’s what’s gonna be going on the needles next. This has been sitting in the stash for some time now and I think it would make a nice pair of Firestarters. I did sign up for the KAL, I really should cast on soon. LOL. The colorway is called Pantomime and I picked it up at The Loopy Ewe.

Posh Yarn - Pantomime

Have a good week. Off to take more meds.

12 Comments »

  1. Alex said,

    Love the new project bag. I’ve been thinking on and off about how I should get one, but she’s on hiatus, so that answers that. =)

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  2. elizabeth said,

    Hope you’re feeling better soon! I no longer sound like Brenda Vaccaro, now my voice resembles Jeff Spicoli, all nasaly. I bet you know what I’m talking about. :o)

  3. trek said,

    Nice to see you are feeling better.

  4. Ingrid said,

    Good to hear you’re feeling better. That Yarn Pirate yarn looks yummy! I can just imagine what it looks like in all of its neon-y goodness.

  5. Zuleika said,

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better. 🙂 Everyone I know has been getting sick lately! That yarn is gorgeous!

  6. Trish said,

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Cute bag! I loved the ultra bright yarn…so did my oldest kiddo. 🙂

  7. Heather said,

    Glad you’re feeling better, and that lil Monkey sack is killing me!

  8. stacey said,

    That little bag is so darn cute – now I know what I can do with my sock monkey fabric – thanks!!:) And the Posh yarn is fabulous! I am torn on the Killer Bees, only because it is bolder than I usually use – but I was happy to get all of the extra goodies:)

  9. Janet said,

    I am coming to steal your monkey bag and relieve you of sock yarn the next time you’re sick! LOL! (What are friends for?)

    Seriously – I’m glad you’re feeling better and ready to knit. And I love the neon yarn! (Does it glow in the dark? Shouldn’t somebody make sock yarn that glows in the dark?)

  10. Jen said,

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better! I’ve been sick as well – I sound like an 80 year old smoker! But am on the mend too!

    You know, I was so keen to order some Posh yarn when I was still over in Europe, earning Euros. That stuff isn’t remotely cheap, and then I got all caught up in the Wollmeise craze… Can’t wait to see how it knits up!

  11. Steven said,

    Wait, you come down by my house and don’t stop by?!

  12. Glad you’re on the mend.

    Fab sock bag, fab yarn! That neon stuff is wicked!


Leave a Reply

