12/04/2007

Moded Knee High Firestarter

Posted in Knitting, Socks at 12:38 am by Jennie

As you can tell from the title, I went ahead and made me some knee highs. yay! I knee highs! The sock looks slightly odd, but it fits, so I’m happy. Its pal is coming along and I hope to have a pair by the end of the week. I’ll post more info on what I did when the pair is done. I hope everyone has a good week.

Knee High Firestarter

I don’t know if I’m a fan of toe-up since I don’t like the bind off, a bit lose for my taste. What are your thoughts?

16 Comments »

  1. Alex said,

    As long as it stays up, it’s all good, I say.

    Knee highs are awesome! =)

  2. Elemmaciltur said,

    OMG….knee-high firestarters! I wonder if I could wear knee-highs.

  3. stacey said,

    If I had my drthers – definitely cuff down…love, love the knee high Firestarter – I can’t quite get a second one cast on – but I will!

  4. Trish said,

    Awesome knee highs!
    I’ve never tried a pair of toe up socks. I guess the cuff down method is working great for me….why fix it if it isn’t broken. 😉

  5. Becky said,

    They look great. I’ve not tried toe-up yet either (I’m with Trish, if it’s not broken…) but I would love a pair of knee-highs to wear with my Uggs.

  6. Shannon said,

    that there is a good looking sock! I love it!
    Can’t wait to see you modeling the pair.

  7. elizabeth said,

    I *love* those! How much yarn do you think you’ll end up using?

  8. Heather said,

    God how utterly freaking cool!!

  9. Zuleika said,

    Those are gorgeous knee highs! I am so jealous! 😉

  10. Wen said,

    YOU, my dear are brilliant! LOVE it!!

  11. tiennie said,

    These are so pretty!

  12. jane said,

    Those are some gorgeous knee highs! Wow.

  13. Nora said,

    I prefer cuff down for the same reason as you – a loose bind off drives me crazy! Lovely sock, btw.

  14. =Tamar said,

    Just substitute a better bind-off.
    It’s interesting how the slight emphasis with special stitches at the edges of design areas is brought out by the yarn.

  15. mel said,

    Truly excellent! Firestarter knee highs!!

  16. Nancy in CA said,

    This sock is breathtaking!! Gorgeous yarn and gorgeous pattern. About the toe-up: I knitted one sock only toe-up and I’m still unsure whether or not I like the technique. It went faster than the cuff down however.


Leave a Reply

