01/16/2008

Happy 2008!!

Posted in Knitting, Socks at 5:44 am by Jennie

Okay, it’s the middle of January but still, I hope 2008 will be a fantastic year for everyone. I’m so happy to report that I have finally finished my knee high Firestarters and they are super cozy.

There were only a few mods the first being my big mess up with the heel/leg pattern being in stockinette instead of Yarnissima’s original pattern. I used the same increase as the pattern but added 3 more extra increases to compensate for my chubby calves ending with a total of 72 stitches.

If anyone is interested here’s the leg info:

  • Total 10 cable repeat
  • Knit row 9 of pattern (this is the increase)
  • Now there’s 62 sts total
  • Knit 4 rounds following row 1 of the pattern
  • Add another increase (I’m increasing the same way I did for the foot. The increase is in the purl area.)
  • 64sts total
  • Knit 2 rounds following row 1 of the pattern
  • Increase => 66 sts total
  • Knit 2 rounds following row 1 of the pattern
  • Increase => 68 sts total
  • Knit 2 rounds following row 1 of the pattern
  • Increase => 70 sts total
  • Knit 6 rounds following row 1 of the pattern
  • Cuff: *Knit , Purl 1* inorder for the pattern to work out and match up I had to fudge and add 2 more stitches ending up with 72 sts total. I randomly placed the two stitches when I would have to do a K1 I did an M1 increase. (I hope this makes sense)
  • Bind off with Grumperina’s style

knee high Firestarter firestarter firestarter firestarter

Happy Feet. 

Pattern: Firestarter by Yarnissima
Can be found HERE
Yarn: Posh Yarn Lucia (purchased at The Loopy Ewe)
Color: Pantomime
Start: 11/2007
Finished: 1/12/2008
Needle: 32” Knit Picks circ Options 2.25mm/US1

Currently I’m going back to the basics and doing simple patterns. I want a lot of socks so I’m sticking to the easy stuff until I spy a must have or want a challenge. Have a great Wednesday!

17 Comments »

  1. WOW, they are gorgeous!!!

  2. Heather said,

    Happy 2008 to you hope that you had a great New Year. Glad to see you back. We missed you 🙂 Great job on the socks love the mods!!

  3. Ingrid said,

    LOVE the socks. They’ll look so great with a cute skirt.

  4. Becca said,

    Those are beautiful! I love that pattern and it looks even better as knee-highs.

  5. terhi said,

    Wow, gorgeous socks! I would love a pair like that too. 🙂

  6. Shannon said,

    Happy 2008 to you too!

    The socks are great. The color works well with the pattern and you did a wonderful job!

  7. stacey said,

    Wow – the socks a fabulous – what a great adventure – I think you deserve a little less complicated sock – you need time to recover:)

  8. Heather said,

    Really, really amazing!!

  9. Rasa said,

    Nice job on the socks! I can certainly appreciate wanting to go back to knittting something easy! I have 4 pairs on the needles at the moment – 2 of which are what I call “mindless” patterns.

  10. Alex said,

    Great socks! That gusset is fabulous, And I love how appropriate the colors of the yarn are to the name of the pattern.

  11. elizabeth said,

    Love ’em! Did you use two hanks of yarn or were you able to knit them from one?

  12. jane said,

    They are great! Love them! Glad to see you’re back…

  13. mel said,

    I love them 🙂 What a happy, fun pair of firestarters!! They are definitely on my list!

  14. tiennie said,

    These are fabulous!

  15. Now that’s an impressive pair of socks! Well done. 🙂

  16. Thanks for all the details of your modifications. I will need to compensate for extra cookie and cake deposits on my calves. I’m sure your numbers will work.

  17. […] to try toe-up socks again since the last time I knit toe-up was Yarnissima’s Firestarters (My socks). Details: Fleece Artist Merino Color: Fruit Punch -I had a fiddly start with the Judy’s […]


Leave a Reply

