02/02/2008

Actual Progress…

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:14 pm by Jennie

Here’s the sock I’ve been working on. It’s the Corded Rib pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks. I’m using the yarn purchased from Ruby Sapphire yarns. It’s knitting up nicely. Its mate is on the needles.

Corded Rib

I also thought I’d be adventurous and try out a short row heel and round toe (star toe?). It turns out I did the short row heel wrong since I only worked half of the heel. But it’s all good since this was just me swatching up the Aruacania Multy. I’m gonna throw it into the wash to see how it does in the washer and dryer since the label says to hand wash and what not. And I’m super lazy throwing all my socks into the washer and dryer. I’ll get back to ya’ll with some results. Oh, by the way, the color is Aruacania Multy 310. I don’t think my toe looks right. Any advice, suggestions? The toe doesn’t feel nice, but the yarn does.

Round Toe Swatch Footie

ETA: Trish asked how the yarn felt, and well, it’s in between. Not the softest yarn, but not the scratchiest either. So I would put it in the middle in comparison to the hard working sock yarns such as Lana Grossa/Opal/Trekking  and the higher end  merinos from the popular indie dyers. Over all a good buy since the price for a skein runs about $14-$16.

8 Comments »

  1. Trish said,

    The corded rib sock looks great. I like the color of the Aruacania. Hows the yarn feel? I’ve been thinking about getting some. I’ve never worked a star toe.

  2. Alex said,

    I say if the toe doesn’t FEEL nice, then screw it. At least it’s only a swatch sock.

    I’m a lazy sock washer too…although I do keep them out of the dryer. Half lazy.

  3. I’m also working on a pair of socks and wanted short row heels, but I don’t think they work well for me. They seem to be kind of shallow and my sock turned out to be too short. I ripped back, will increase the length and try another method. I did a round toe once: http://projektleiterin.blogspot.com/2007/09/my-first-socks.html
    The instructions are in “Vintage Socks” by Nancy Bush. I can’t find the book at the moment, but as far as I remember you divide the stitches into five sections. SSK or K2tog (not sure anymore what it was) at the end of each section. And I think you do the decreases every second row, the last couple of rows I think you decrease every row.

  4. elizabeth said,

    Star toes are my favorite, but I agree, yours looks a bit puckered. I followed Nancy Bush’s dircections as projektleiterin said, and it works great. But if you still don’t like it, I’d rip! Lovely colors!

  5. mel said,

    I love coming to your blog for sock inspiration – That corded rib is great 🙂 I want to try a star toe, but I’ll need to check in with you first!

  6. Katie said,

    The colors on both pairs are great! I want to get the Aruacania but the whole not superwash makes me leary.

  7. […] my test footie awhile back where I thought I’d test the Araucania in the washer and dryer to see if we […]

  8. […] ETA: Opps, forgot to mention it’s the Araucania Multy color 310 that I previously knit up a swatch footie. […]


Leave a Reply

