03/01/2008

SKS knitting frenzy

Posted in Knitting, Socks at 1:36 am by Jennie

I don’t think I’ve had the chance to just sit and crank out a pair of socks so quickly as I did this past week. Must have been on a knitting high.

Waterfall Rib
Pattern: Waterfall Rib from Sensational Knitted Socks
Started: 2-22-08
Finished: 2-27-08
Needle: 32” Knit Picks circ size (2.25mm/ US 1)
CO: 54sts

I am really smitten with this colorway. The pattern was super simple to memorize which made the knitting flow so well. Can you guess what yarn I used? I can be a yarn snob but this yarn was just a steal! It’s Knit Picks Essential. The colorway is Tuscon Multi. It was on sale because the color lot didn’t come out to be as saturated as planned by the company. So this pair only cost me $6 and I have enough left for footies. What a deal!!

One ball equals... Here’s how much I can get out of one 50g ball.

I’ve used the Bare Essential to dye my own socks, remember my Fugly socks? lol. This yarn is really warm and washes up even softer. My kool aid dyed socks have been in and out of the washer and dryer and held up quite well. So these socks are gonna be treated the same. No need to handwash. A definite plus.

Have a wonderful weekend!

15 Comments »

  1. Manda said,

    They look great!! 🙂 I’m glad to hear they hold up well in the washer. I’ve been giving my mom “good-yarn” socks recently, including a pair that I have on the needles right now in Regia Silk, but I’m thinking I might do something a little more easy-care for the pair after that. Love the colors… which colorway is it? Or did you mention it & I’m just blind? LOL

  2. Diana said,

    I love these socks….they are even the perfect colors of waterfalls!!

  3. Heather said,

    These are great, cool pattern! I’ll have to check that Knitpicks sock yarn out…

  4. Sharon said,

    Love the socks! And, you can’t beat $6 handknit socks. Good to hear the yarn washes well – I have some in my stash and have been meaning to get to it.

  5. Rachel said,

    The socks look great and I’m loving that colorway…teal and brown…one of my favorites!

  6. Jean said,

    They’re lovely! Nicely done. That colorway is perfect for them.

  7. Zuleika said,

    I love the colorway, and the pattern stitch is really pretty! You knit fast! 🙂

  8. Jessa said,

    Aw, those socks are adorable! I love the colors in them. They look all warm and toasty. Nice for cold tootsies like myself!

  9. leah said,

    Gorgeous! I’ve been happy with a lot of knitpicks yarn too!

  10. jane said,

    Love the socks!Great colorway.

  11. Elemmaciltur said,

    Great colourway!

  12. Lise said,

    Wow – I love those socks – you are brave, I hand wash almost all my socks (except the WoolEase ones – but they are sneaker socks anyway). Those are just too pretty!

  13. Ingrid said,

    Yay! Those are lovely socks! I really like the way the colours work with the pattern.

  14. mel said,

    woo-hooo! Six dollar socks! And boy, they are purty!! 🙂

  15. Heather said,

    They are very, very nice!


Leave a Reply

