03/07/2008

Obsessed

Posted in Knitting, Socks at 12:06 pm by Jennie

I have been utterly obsessed with learning how to freaking do a nice looking short row heel. This past week has been a long and tedious battle. That I have sadly loss. I have tried all the tutorials I could find on-line. Looked through a few of the sock books that I have and I have yet to complete a short row heel that I am happy with.

Lot of Short Row heel practice

Four short row heels, none are non-hole-y.    They look decent in the photo, but on my feet, you can see all the holes.

I’ve been working with Sockina Cotton and thank goodness I came to my senses and used a life line. I’ve frogged the heel more times than I can remember. I think I’m going to try out the yarn over short row heel next. I can’t seem to do the wrapping ones correctly.

Sockina Cotton 04

The Sockina Cotton is really soft. I love it’s squishiness. It’s made up of cotton, acrylic, and nylon. I would this yarn but it doesn’t seem to bounce back to un-stretched-out mode after I’ve been trying it on my leg like my other woolly yarns do.

I’ll be off on a mini family trip. I hope everyone  has a wonderful weekend. I’ll see ya’ll sometime next week.

13 Comments »

  1. Janet said,

    I love those blue/green/orange footies! What kind of yarn is it? It sort of looks like Trekking, but I feel like it isn’t.

    Have a good trip! I hope the yo heel works out.

  2. Kellie said,

    You may have already tried it but the best online tute for non-holey short-rows that I have found is listed on the right-hand side bar unde ‘tutorials’ at http://www.cosmicplutoknits.com
    I think the key to no holes is to also wrap the first and last stitches on the non-heel needle, which Laura explains how to do in her tute. Good luck!

  3. Heather said,

    Hope that you enjoy your trip…Have you tried this tutorial on the blue blogs web page? I use this one all the time. I don’t normally knit heel flap socks. I also avoid holes in my heels by working(wrapping) the last stitches on each side of the heel and knitting them with the first stitch tbl when I join back in the round…does that make sense? ex. if my heel is supposed to have 26 stitches when I am done making the short row I make sure that I have an extra st on each side. (28st) Then that extra st on each end gets slipped and ktbl with the one on the top of the foot. Hope that helps. Sorry if I confused you more.
    http://alison.knitsmiths.us/shortrow_tutorial.html

  4. kc said,

    I have never attempted toe-up, but I’m looking into it… I don’t know, though, I like how heel flaps look! Isn’t there a way to do a heel flap, but toe-up? or are you just set on conquering the shortrow heel? 🙂 you can do it!

    have a fun trip! 🙂

  5. mel said,

    I wish I had some words of wisdom for you on the short-row heels! They do look quite nice on the blockers though, and that sockina cotton is lovely knit up. Do share what you learn with us, please! Good luck!

  6. Heather said,

    I’m seconding the Cosmicpluto tutorial…and thanks for that Sockina info, I’m destashing that asap!

  7. Janet said,

    I’m sorry about your frustrations with the short rows! They all look like such lovely socks though — I’d be none the wiser by looking at them.

    Enjoy your time off and safe travels!

  8. Adrienne said,

    Have a great trip!
    I always do short row heels because I’m far too lazy to knit heel flaps, I use Wendy of Wendy Knits’ recipe for short row heels (again because I’m too lazy to try out different methods). I always pick up extra stitches after knitting the heel and then decrease back down again on the next row, if I manage to do a decent job then I don’t really get a hole. I’ve never really been 100% happy with my short rows though, perhaps it’s time to try a new technique or two. =)

  9. Elemmaciltur said,

    I have the same problem with short rows, too.

    You have a great weekend!

  10. Rasa said,

    I’ve tried the short row heels and have decided to stick with the old heel flap! I really like the colors of your Sockina Cotton socks – they remind me of spring! Spring seems soooo far away today – we got a foot of snow and its still coming down.

  11. tiennie said,

    Have a fun trip! The socks look good to me – the heels too!

  12. Jean said,

    Short row heels are my nemesis. But if I have to do one, I do the YO one. I haven’t done a Japanese short row heel yet, but maybe soon. It looks promising. Good luck!

  13. Dove said,

    If you’re looking for a heel that works well with striped yarns, try the forethought or afterthought heels. I don’t know of an online tutorial, but it’s in Sensational Knitted Socks. Basically, for a forethought heel, you knit the future heel stitches on scrap yarn, and then continue with the rest of the sock. Once you’re done, you place the heel stitches on needles, unravel the scrap yarn, and do basically a decrease like you do for the toe to get the heel. It’s easy, and it’s alot less holey.

    Although Grumperina has had luck with short-row heels as described in Cat Bordhi’s newest book.


Leave a Reply

