03/14/2008

Where'd I go?

Posted in Vacation at 2:20 pm by Jennie

WARNING***No actual knitting content*** WARNING***A lot of photos***

Hi ya’ll! I’m so happy to be back home. I really missed my cozy bed and just the freedom of being home. We went on a 5 day cruise to Mexico. Most of the time was spent on the ship (Carnival Ecstasy) but we did make two stops, Cozumel and Progresso Yucatan. I wish I could say I have tons of knit work to show for all the free time. But I only completed a few more short row heel practices and so far, the Yarn Over style (from these tutorials: Purly Whites and The blue blog) is sort of working for me. I still need more practice. I did rediscover my love of reading. I haven’t really put much time or should I say made time to sit and just enjoy a book. I’m glad to say I spent a lot of time reading an amazingly interesting novel ( The Clan of the Cave Bear) that I had picked up at Half Price Books for only $3 (yay! for bargains).

I don’t like to post without pictures, so here are some vacation photos. If you’re interested there are more in my Flickr set.

Diet coke isn’t diet coke in Mexico it’s called Coca-Cola light. hehehe


ETA: There were pictures here, but I didn’t want to reload the whole bunch since the Flickr fiasco. I’m sorry.

10 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Looks like quite a vacation! My parents went on a cruise several years ago and only talked of the many, many desserts…

  2. Becky said,

    Glad you had a good time – I had a Spring Break trip so I know about missing the cozy bed. As for the book, Clan of the Cave Bear – it’s one of my favorites and is the first in a series. I read them while in high school and studying evolution etc so it kind of went along with that.

  3. Trish said,

    Looks like fun! Glad to hear you had fun. I hope to one day go on a cruise with my hubby. Maybe when the kiddos are a little older. Clan of the Cave Bear is a great book. You should get the rest of the books in the series, you’ll love them.

    I always hate the cleaning I have to do when I get back from vacation.

  4. Arlene said,

    very nice photos! By the way… in Germany diet coke is also called coca cola light 😉

  5. elizabeth said,

    Sounds like fun! Also, in France, it’s Coca-Cola Light (and if you’re lucky, Avec Citron). And it’s not as sweet as our Diet Coke. I wish they’d sell it here!

  6. Shannon said,

    Glad you had a good time! The cruise sounds nice – I haven’t been on one before.

  7. Hey, someone else also went to Cozumel! http://hitashi.wordpress.com/2008/03/09/trouble-in-paradise-re-cap

  8. Kent said,

    Did I see you there too 🙂 ?

    We could have knit in the tropical sunshine together, sipping margaritas 🙂

    -K

  9. Janet said,

    Oooooh, I love the look of your vacation too! Welcome home!

    Oddly, I can’t knit on the plane — but I have no problem reading. (I think it’s because knitting generates conversation and I like to be left alone when I fly). I got through three books but not any fiction like yours – I LOVED Clan of the Cave Bear, btw!

  10. Blogaversery has today listed as your blogaversery, but I see that your button says otherwise. Happy Day either way. I’m delighted to have stopped by. I love your photos.

    Cookie


Leave a Reply

