09/29/2008

Simple Knitting

Posted in Hats, Knitting, Socks tagged , , at 10:19 pm by Jennie

I enjoy hats, well, more like I have a love and hate relationship with them. I love the look, but hate the look on me. I have an odd shaped head so every time I wear a hat/beanie, I look like a ridiculous alien. Therefore I hardly knit them. 😦

But they are so quick to knit and well, when you want to try out a new brand of yarn (new to me yarn) such as Cascade 220 Superwash, you go right ahead a pick a simple yet textured hat. The Marsan Watchcap was perfect. Not too much and just enough to keep me going. Plus, I was able to knit up something for my little brother.

Marsan Watchcap 1 Marsan Watchcap

Final thoughts: I really like Cascade 220 and will definitely use it on more items especially since I can get it in the superwash variety. I wasn’t too big a fan of ktbl’s but it does give the hat that “pop” factor so I can live with that. When we first picked the color out on the Webs webpage, we thought we were getting a medium gray, but turns out, it’s a dark heathered gray/green. We still like it.  🙂

Currently working on: A mate for this simple sock.

Opaling around

My first pair of Opal socks just for me. The last time I worked on a pair of Opals was for my cousin a year ago. And since my stash has grown to an unmanageable size I really had to shop from the stash. This was from my earlier days of sock knitting, wow, come to think of it, I’ve had this in there for almost 3 years, wow! Anywho, sometimes simple is the way to go.

I hope everyone has a wonderful week!!

5 Comments »

  1. Cascade 220 is such a great generic worsted weight and they come in lots of great colors! I used the tweed version for the cobblestone and loved how it turned out. Hope your brother appreciates his hat!!! 🙂

  2. Becky said,

    Hello! I also have a love-hate relationship with hats. They look cute etc, but I don’t think I look good in hats. I do wear one in winter because I feel the cold. The problem is I have to wear my hair down, which I never do, to wear a hat. I did see one hat that has a ponytail hole though so I might knit that one.

  3. Trish said,

    I love Cascade 220, both superwash and regular. The superwash is a little more but it’s very durable and hard wearing. I’ll have to add that hat to my queue since it’s the perfect pattern for hubby and he needs some new hats.

  4. tiennie said,

    That hat is awesome! Great sock too. 🙂

  5. Heather said,

    Yes, I love the ‘pop’ factor of the kbl as well. Great hat! And are you sure your head is really misshapen?!


Leave a Reply

