10/10/2008

"You spin me right round, baby…

Posted in Accessories, Knitting, Scarves, Spinning tagged , , , , at 10:06 pm by Jennie

Right round, like a record, baby, right round, round round.”  Pretty much sums up what’s been going on with me.

Wool and Spindle Spinning

Here are some finished spins.  🙂

First Handspun Niddy Noddy and Drop Spindle

Both rovings purchased from Alpaca Direct. Decent priced rovings for practice before I move on to the fancier handpainted rovings found on Etsy. I picked up the drop spindle and niddy noddy from Ma and Pa’s Spindles. I heart my niddy noddy, it’s just so cute and small.

Spinning hasn’t totally be on my mind. I’ve been bitten by the scarf bug once again. I’ve been in love with Argosy since I first saw it but thought it would be to hard to knit. Now with a bit of experience it’s just a piece o’cake.

Noro Silk Garden Lite

2 skeins of delicious Noro Silk Garden Lite. My first time working with this stuff and I like it! I enjoy how the color repeats are so long and pretty.

I’ve also been dreaming of a sweater just for me. I have the materials, I just have to get to it. One day…

Beroco Pure Merino

5 Comments »

  1. Bee said,

    Beautiful work on your spindle spun yarns! I had a very hard time getting the fiber to look like yarn my first several tries. Looks like you caught the spinning bug! It’s so much fun! I love the Noro scarf. Noro has always surprised me. I never used to like it much on first look but I love the results when knitting it. Can’t wait to see the finished scarf.

  2. Wow, amazing spinning!!!! Be careful, a wheel is in your near future! 😉

  3. Trish said,

    Your spinning looks great. I never could get the hang of spinning on a spindle and I’ve yet to use my wheel much since I bought it. I just haven’t had the time.

  4. stacey said,

    That spinning is looking great – Ms. Bockstark is quite an enabler, be careful you WILL have a wheel soon!;) I need to queue Argosy, I love yours in the Noro!

  5. The yarn and the scarf (it’s also on my To-Do-list) are a perfect combination. And the alpaca handspun looks so fluffy and warm!


Leave a Reply

