12/01/2008

Fun with color.

Posted in DIY, Dyeing, Knitting, Socks, Stash, Yarn at 6:40 pm by Jennie

Don’t you sometimes wish you could negotiate with time? A little more time today and a lot less time tomorrow?

Over the past weeks instead of knitting up a storm, I was drawn to dyeing and color fun. Instead of dyeing the regular way, I wanted striped sock yarn. Lets just say that I had a ton of yarn all over the house because I wanted a crazy amount of color in one repeat.

Calling In First look at it.

Calling In - Reskeined And here it is re-skeined. It looks totally different.

Calling In Sock Knit up, hmmm I’m okay with the colors. I was lucky to have a happy accident with the whitish stripes. They were suppose to be white sections left undyed, but I must have had a lot of dye residual and the blues/greens dirtied the white. But I think it worked out.

Another package of undyed sock yarn came in, and this time around the dyeing was so much fun. My plans were to try to do some semi-solids and only really achieved that look with my maroonish color. The blueish one turned out to be many shades of blue and I love it. Then finally my last one I went crazy and threw a ton of color everywhere and the end result is utterly my favorite with all its colors and personality.

Dyeing results

Suchin Color: Suchin (beautiful thought)

Saphira Color: Saphira (I’ve been reading Eragon and the name was perfect for this color.)

Safara Colorway: Safara (fire)

Yes, I’m dorky. I wanted all the names to start with an “S” after I was sure to call the blue one Saphira.

On to some not so happy knitting news…I really don’t like how my guage can be so off everythime I start the second sock. I write down pretty much all my row info and what I did to get where I got, but no matter what, the second sock is always either biger or smaller.

Austermann Step Austermann Step

In this case, sock numero 2 is a lot smaller. grrrr. And to add to that, for some reason, when I started the second sock, the repeat pattern of the sock reversed. Originally I wanted matched socks, but gave up on that half way down the leg when it was obviously backwards, but now the freaking sock doesn’t fit too well. grrrrrr. Thoughts… frog, or just knit another sock, lol.

That’s my craziness for the day, hope everyone had a wonderful holiday, and if you’re not the holiday celebrating type, hope you had a good time doing whatever it is you do.  🙂

7 Comments »

  1. Trish said,

    Love the new yarn colors. They all turned out great. :clap:

    I hate it when one sock comes out smaller then the other. I only do it on plain socks. It the biggest reason for me knitting two at a time now. They both come out the same.

  2. Rachel said,

    Those yarns are gorgeous! Looks like so much fun to dye yarn–especially if you get those kinds of colors!

  3. OMG, your yarns are AMAZING!!!! I love them all!!!

  4. Shannon said,

    Love the dyeing! I want to do that sometime too with spinning fiber.

    I had a ball of sock yarn pull the same trick on me. It took me awhile to accept it – but I did finally. your socks came out nice!

  5. Erica said,

    I really like the colors in Safara too. Nice job!

  6. tiennie said,

    Lovely work!

  7. Heather said,

    Re-skeining is pure magic!


Leave a Reply

